Vintage Sewing Pattern 4024

Vintage Sewing Patterns

This post is really an excuse to show some lovely vintage patterns i’ve been acquiring! ย They have come from a mixture of places, charity shops, eBay and of course my beloved Etsy! Some have been cheaper than others (I think the most was about $8?).

So far i’ve completed one of the patterns, i’m just beginning to sew so it was a steep learning curve! Some parts weren’t followed exactly as they should have been but it turned out pretty well and didn’t fall apart so I was very pleased! It felt very satisfying to wear something that I had made. (Pattern 4745!)

You should take a look atย Sewaholics blog on following vintage patterns which was a great help. A lot of clear photographs and tips which was really useful.

I hope you enjoy them ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “Vintage Sewing Patterns

    1. Erica Post author

      They are very lovely! I wish I had more time to work with them.
      Etsy has been a great place to find them! Thanks for your comment ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  1. LegosnEggos

    Aw, these remind me of my childhood! My mom was an avid seamstress for both herself and me,and my clothes were the BOMB! She still has so many old patterns,and to look through them is like going through a photo album, they’re so rich with good memories of her pinning me up, calling me down for fittings, and finally slipping on a dress for which I got to pick the color, the fabric, and the style. What a great idea to post about it! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am sure the shantung 4745 looked just awesome! I think I’m going to break out the old sewing machine and have a go this spring. ๐Ÿ™‚ By the way, do you ever browse through all the vintage-y-patterened dresses on Modcloth? And you probably like Zooey Deschanel’s wardrobe choices, too, like me. I really enjoyed this post. M

    Reply
    1. Erica Post author

      Thank you! I love Zooeys style (especially in 500 days of summer!), what I would give for that wardrobe!!
      I woud love to show at Modcloth but the shipping to the UK has always been high and theres the dilemma of if something doesn’t fit quite right! Although saying that it might be time to risk it and order one of their beautiful dresses!
      What a great childhood! Theres something very satisfying about knowing you’ve made it yourself ๐Ÿ™‚
      Yes bring out the sewing machine! I would love to see what you create ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Please leave your comment here!

