Some Recent Thrifty Finds

Over the past couple of weekends I’ve had the chance to hunt around junk shops, charity shops and some fancy shops! I’m moving soon to a small place of my own (Not officially on my own but you get the idea!). No longer under the roof of family members anyway!

I don’t have that much money to buy all new fancy things so junk and charity shops are where im hoping to pick up most of the random bits and pieces I need! So far im having some great luck with things I’ve found. I’ve also learned how to make my own soap along the way which will save pennies further down the line!

I’m going for a retro/vintage/shabby theme in my head, hopefully bits and pieces I find will fit into that. As I come across things I’ll post them here and share them with you lovely people!

Well first things first….my junk shop finds! I came across a crock pot in fantastic condition! They can be quite pricey in the shops so I was super pleased when I came across this.

Next up a blue-tinted glass jug, not really an essential when you’re moving but come summer it will most probably get a lot of use! We used to have one quite similar when we were young at our grandparents.

Well together I bought both the crock pot and jug for…..wait for it…….£2.50! Amazing!

These lovely little cups were a present from my sister. I can’t wait to have afternoon tea and cake in them. It cost her £10.00 for 4 cups and four saucers – what a great sister I have!

I popped out for some lunch to a local supermarket whilst at work (rhymes with painsburys) earlier this week and came back with yet move over dishes!! How lovely is this heart-shaped pot? I got the above heart-shaped pot and a rectangle put. They are a nice dusty pink colour, I believe they are part of the Breast Cancer range where money from sales goes towards supporting research. I got both for £10.

So far my house will consist of mainly crockery! I also came across a lovely little table, unfortunately its been swiftly stored away in the garage until I find time to sand it so no photo. Another bargain for £2.50 from the junk shop! How I love the junk shop!!

These papers were from our trip to Manchester last weekend. They are technically wrapping paper but im going to frame them I think. Too nice to be just wrapping paper!

My favorite find of the weekend was this beautiful dress from Ryans Vintage. I cant wait for the summer to wear it!

Ok this beautiful lamp isn’t mine…my sister won it on eBay (again for £10!) and I did the sisterly thing and picked it up for her. Its beautiful isn’t it! Very jealous of it!

Well that’s this times finds! Have you had any good finds lately?

I would love to hear any tips you have for furnishing on a budget as well!

12 thoughts on “Some Recent Thrifty Finds

  1. tearoomdelights

    Excellent finds at bargain prices! I was particularly amazed by the top two for only £2.50! That really was a briliant buy. My mum bought me a little teacup and saucer-plate in a second-hand shop the other day which I’ll be showcasing on my blog soon. It’s wonderful when you come home with bargains like that, it makes you want to go out and find more! I can imagine you’re going to enjoy furnishing your new place with bits and pieces found here and there, and I look forward to seeing more. I would also love to see a photo of your beautiful new teacups in use for tea and cake 🙂

    Reply
    1. Erica Post author

      I know I couldn’t believe the price either! The chap at the junk shop seems to make them up as he goes along – which I wont complain about!

      Reply
  2. mecopeland

    I do love thrift shops. I’ve found some real cool things in the past. Don’t go often because I hard sometimes to find real good ones. The ones I’ve enjoyed the most are in Boston Ma. I live in Washington DC, and they really don’t have alot that I would find interesting. So when I do visit Boston I make sure I make a stop.

    Reply
    1. Erica Post author

      That’s a shame theres not many close to you!
      It’s great some of the items you can find 🙂 I hope you can stop by one soon!

      Reply

Please leave your comment here!

