“The Earth Is Full”

I dont know how many of you are familliar with TED?

According to its website, ‘TED started out in 1984 as a conference bringing people from three worlds together: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Since then its scope has become ever broader. TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading.’

I have had the app on my iPhone now for quite a while. Ive dipped in and out, watching talks here and there, but never really looked through what other talks were available.

This weekend I came across one talk that I had to share.

Paul Gilding, former global CEO of Greenpeace, gave a talk titled “The Earth If Full”.

“Our system — of debt-fueled economic growth, of ineffective democracy, of overloading planet Earth — is eating itself alive.”

Its the best thought provoking talk i’ve seen in a very long time. I try to do my best for the environment I live in. I recycle as much as I can, I use a water bobble rather than a plastic bottle, I reuse the same shopping bags, I turn down paper leaflets in the street and I compost food that isnt eaten (and peelings). This strange Apple is our kitchen compost collector! Who said composting cant be fun?!

Im proud of the little bits that I do, although i’m pretty well aware that I could do more.

Now imagine what that means for you, your family, your friends, your personal financial security. Imagine what it means for your personal security as a heavily armed civilian population gets angrier and angrier about why this was allowed to happen. Imagine what you’ll tell your children when they ask you, “So, in 2012, Mom and Dad, what was it likewhen you’d had the hottest decade on record for the third decade in a row, when every scientific body in the world was saying you’ve got a major problem, when the oceans were acidifying, when oil and food prices were spiking, when they were rioting in the streets of London and occupying Wall Street? When the system was so clearly breaking down, Mom and Dad, what did you do, what were you thinking?”

I am genuinely scared for the world my children (future children!) will grow up in. It seems as if we are at a tipping point where if more people do not step up and take control of how they can help to protect our environment, it will be a very different place in the future.

Heres a few other similar talks.

First up if James Balog – Along with his team, they have spent the past 5+ years creating stop motion videos of glaciers melting. Although im sure most people are aware of global warming, its mind blowing to see it happening before your eyes.

Second up – Jeremy Jackson on How we are destroying our oceans.

“It’s not about the fish; it’s not about the pollution; it’s not about the climate change. It’s about us and our greed and our need for growth and our inability to imagine a world that is different from the selfish world we live in today.” (Jeremy Jackson)

I hope you enjoy these as much as I did – certainly eye opening.

More learning! Learning is good 🙂

One thought on ““The Earth Is Full”

  1. Pingback: Recent Reading – The Lorax « Its Only Erica

Please leave your comment here!

