Laura Marling – Manchester Apollo

Last night we were lucky enough to have tickets to see Laura Marling at the O2 Apollo, Manchester.

I had been looking forward to this for so long now, tickets have been almost impossible to track down! Luckily, on the day they were released, my other half was at home so it was a win win situation!

Laura was nominated for the Mercury Music Prize in 2008 and 2010, she also won Best Female Solo Artist at the 2011 Brit Awards. This was when I first heard of her. I bought her first album after coming across it in HMV and have since bought the rest of her albums. Also, before becoming know as an individual, she was also a member of the original Noah and The Whale lineup.

The Apollo was a great venue, we have been here a couple of times now and its just gets better everytime. Its a little old theatre that can be either seating or standing. Last night we were seated which made sense as Laura’s music should be listened to – not jumped around to!

As I live in Cumbria, I love listening to Lauras music as i’m driving through the hills. It reminds me of really old folk music, mixed with magic and mystic beings. Hopefully you have an idea of what it is like from that very broad description!
It sometimes seems as if she is singing a poem, they are beautiful songs!

Once of my favourite songs is a hidden track that was included on her first album, called “Alas I can not swim”. It tells the story of seeing a boy across the river but being unable to get there as she can not swim.

I love Laura’s music and would highly recommend listening to her if you have not already. She doesn’t need any elaborate stage designs or outfits. It was simply herself, her guitar and her band on stage. It was breathtaking!

Heres a video of the night – apologies that it is quite tiny. We were sat so far back we were practically outside! I have a few more so will upload them to my YouTube shortly!

4 thoughts on “Laura Marling – Manchester Apollo

  1. theotherwatson

    Ahhh I am so jealous, I love Laura Marling! She has such a great voice and sound, and she is such a hard worker too – she has turned out three albums in the time it takes most artists to release one or two. Next time she comes to Australia I have to see her!

    Reply

Please leave your comment here!

