Clothbound Classics

I will always be a book fan – theres nothing better than a great collection on your shelf! I will always choose a physical book over a download, theres just something about getting a brand new book.

My sister introduced me to the Penguin Clothbound Classics range in October 2012. As soon as I started reading the clothbound edition of ‘Tess of the D’Urbervilles’ I just knew I had to collect them all!

The Clothbound Classics range are designed by the immensely talented Coralie Bickford-Smith in partnership with Penguin. If you are interested in learning more about Coralie and the process to create these fantastic books, you can find a fantastic interview here.

In the meantime…..heres some lovely photos (Thank you new camera!!) of the books i’ve already collected.

Sense and Sensibility Clothbound Classic Pride and Prejudice Clothbound Classic Oliver Twist Clothbound Classic IMG_0800 Clothbound Classics Treasure Island Clothbound Classic Edgar Allen Poe

 

My dream Clothbound versions would be:

The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe

Wizard of Oz

1984

The Chrysalids

Game of Thrones Series

IMG_0892 IMG_0894 IMG_0895 IMG_0901 IMG_0908 IMG_0913 IMG_0920 IMG_0922 IMG_0930 IMG_0943

More information on the Clothbound Classics can be found here and if you are interested in perusing them in person, head over to your local Waterstones and I hope you find them as beautiful as I do 🙂

The Edgar Allen Poe Leather-bound book is a Barnes and Nobel edition – also available at Waterstones! Not all of this series is available in the UK, although you can order then from the USA Barnes and Nobel website for quite reasonable shipping costs.

I would love the Jurassic Park and Wicked versions – Waterstones please get these in!

11 thoughts on “Clothbound Classics

    1. Erica Post author

      I would love more of the Barnes and Nobel ones! The ones I really want are so hard to find over here. Usually the ones I can find I already have in the clothbound version – ill just end up with lots of copies of the same book (which might not be a bad thing 🙂 )

      Reply
  1. tearoomdelights

    What a lovely idea, I agree with you about a tangible book over an e-book, there’s something very satisfying about turning over pages and feeling the paper. The clothbound series is beautiful, I can certainly see the attraction.

    Reply
    1. Erica Post author

      Thanks Lorna! I will always be a book lover….something about the new page smell!
      I also love finding little old books. Eventually I will just be over run with books!

      Reply
  2. Rob Lundy

    Not sure if Brideshead Revisited is in the collection, if not it certainly should be. Just re-read The Midwich Cuckoos which would look good alongside The Chrysalids in your wish list.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: My First Ever Clothbound Classics: Les Misérables | Surgabukuku

Please leave your comment here!

