New Years Resolutions

20130106-112913 AM.jpg

It’s that time of year again…new years resolutions! I’m great at thinking them up but awful at keeping them!

There are some things that I have to do this year in order to become a fully fledged ‘grown up’.

In no particular order these are…..

 

Saving money

IMG_0683

 

I’m awful with money. I’m the kind of person that think ‘oh well I really need that’ when looking at bargain boots that I will probably never wear. Some of you might know that I’m great at hoarding random junk that I come across at second hands shops and junk shops (I have bowls, frames and even a whisk knocking around somewhere!). What I’m not so great at is putting money away for a rainy day. The way things are at the minutes, it looks as if I could do with putting some money away as nobody seems to know what is around the corner in this current financial crisis.

I came across this great weekly savings challenge on Reddit and I’m going to try to stick to it! Any little helps right?! It’s in Dollars but I will user British Pounds instead.

Move out!

IMG_0686

Okay so this one is directly linked to saving some money. I’ve been living with my aunty and her family for over three years now so as I can pay off some of my student debts and save (??!?!?!). One downside to this is that I’m terrified of living alone! Every creak of the floorboards and I think somebody has broken into the house. I was left ‘house sitting’ earlier this week which turned out to be more of a nightmare than I had thought. Our house alarm decided to go off for no reason at 3 am and being very sleepy I couldn’t figure out what it was. In my sleepy state I then proceeded to set off the smoke alarms so I had two sets of alarms beeping at me. Needless to say I was close to a heart attack.

So that’s why I will be a disaster living alone.

Doing more things that make me happy

IMG_0729

Spending more time with friends, less time on work and generally enjoying life!

Reading

IMG_0726

I’m also hoping to complete my Goodreads reading challenge….but more on that later!

Have you made any new years resolutions?

6 thoughts on “New Years Resolutions

  1. The Other Watson

    A lot of my new years resolutions are the same – clear the credit card and save money, the goodreads reading challenge (only going for 30 books this year, as it’s such a busy year already), visiting and possibly moving overseas so spending more time with friends when I can while I’m still here…the list goes on.
    As for your moving out – once you get used to it, living alone is amazing. I essentially lived alone for a year, and now I have a housemate for a few months, which I don’t mind but living alone is so much better. He’s away on holidays for a few weeks and I’m loving having the house to myself again!
    Anyway, good luck with your resolutions! 🙂

    Reply
    1. Erica Post author

      I’ve gone for 30 books as well. Last year I started off well then didn’t read anything for a few months so I fell behind! Hopefully i’ll be more organised this year!
      Im sure once I take the plunge and move out things will figure themselves out – although I think I will always be a little terrified! I suppose until I do it I wont know!
      Thanks for your comment and the follow 🙂

      Reply
      1. The Other Watson

        Yeah I was exactly the same – I started off strong but by mid year I dropped the ball with my reading.
        And yes, you’re right about the moving out thing. You won’t know until you do it (but honest, you’ll love it).
        Thank you for the follow back! (I think I followed your blog a while ago? Your twitter was only recently though 😛 ).

        Reply
  2. tearoomdelights

    I think you’ve got some excellent resolutions and I really like your little calendar. Saving money is always a good idea, you just never know when you might need it. I’ve managed to live without working for a while now solely because I had savings, which I’m living on. They won’t last forever, but they have allowed me some time out to do other things. I’ve made a few resolutions, one of them being to recycle or give away 365 items over the whole year. So far I’m managing one a day, and it’s quite nice to get rid of stuff I never use and clothes I’ll never wear again.

    Reply
    1. Erica Post author

      Thanks Lorna, the only problem with those calendars is that I always forget to rip them off. Last years was still in August when I came to replace it!
      I love your resolution to give 365 items a new home, good luck with it!

      Reply

Please leave your comment here!

