Recent Reading – Style Me Vintage

I’ve finally had the time to sit down and jump into this beautiful book!

After a hectic weekend of rummaging through the vintage shops of Manchester’s northern quarter, I had chance to sit down with a cup of delicious tea and take in all of the vintage awesomeness (yes thats a word…) of this book! ‘Style Me Vintage: Clothes’ is one of three books that cover vintage clothing, hair and make-up. It offers information and tips on creating and finding vintage clothing from the 1920’s up until the 1980’s.

I wish I had settled down to read this before hand so I was more prepared for my weekend of shopping.

Here’s a little bit about the author, Naomi Thompson from her website….

Vintage Secret is the home to Stylist and vintage expert,  Naomi Thompson. In 2008 she launched the first high tech on-line vintage shop, to immediate acknowledgement in the Guardian’s ‘What’s Hot’ list (second only to Ferragamo).

Naomi blithely skipped the pitfalls of on-line vintage, landing instead on the pages of Vogue, Sunday Times Style, The Telegraph, Cosmopolitan and Psychologies Magazine, quickly establishing a reputation for sourcing superb quality clothes at reasonable prices.

In 2010 Naomi decided to put her expertise to good use and now is recognised as the UK’s premier vintage personal shopper.  She also works closely with BBC Homes and Antiques Magazine.

Both Naomi and her wardrobe have enjoyed a moment or two on our TV screens, notably a segment on the One Show, in a Channel 4 documentary on vintage style, Canal Plus and segments for Fashot TV and Vintage Victory.

Not only has she appeared on the television, she is also part of the Vintage Mafia! How I would love to spend the day with her!

What I immediately loved about the book (apart from the cover – not just a regular shiny cover oh no!) was how straight forward and easy to understand it was. Everything is explained well without the information overload you sometimes get. Naomi provides some great quick tips throughout the book, such as how to date an item (pre or post 1950s), labels to look out for and the best places to shop.

There’s detailed information from the 1920’s through to the 1980s covering both day looks and evening looks which has been fascinating! It also covers swimsuits, lingerie and how to go about repairing a vintage item.

One of the most frustrating things I have found as I have been previously shopping for vintage is getting in and out of an item! Theres so many hidden buttons, poppers and zips I get in a right old mess sometimes! I was so glad to find a section for that here too. Little tips such as making sure all zips are open, checking for built in slips and that all poppers are open will make all the difference – I just hope I remember!

I now have to pass this book only my 11 year old cousin as she has been badgering me to finish reading it! She’s becoming increasingly interested in vintage fashions and items (Hooray!). Im looking forward to taking her another of Judy’s vintage fairs in March! She asks on a weekly basis how many days it is until we can go!

Naomi you have done a fantastic job, thank you for a fabulous book!

5 thoughts on “Recent Reading – Style Me Vintage

    1. Erica Post author

      Thank you! It was a great read – yet again something else I could learn from 🙂
      I believe im in a learning phases at the moment!

      Reply
    1. Erica Post author

      It’s a lovely book, I highly recommend it if you can find a copy 🙂

      You’re very kind, I would love to pick her brains about vintage fashions and shopping spots!

      Reply

Please leave your comment here!

